Friday, November 20, 2009

Deployment Blues

As many of you know, I am a social worker in the PA area.  The trouble with my job is that I tend to psychoanalyze just about everyone I meet (What a job hazard)!  Seriously, even the girl at the cash register in my local grocery store; I start to wonder what her childhood was like, what she's doing working at the grocery store, what problems are going on with her social, family and emotional life.

If I am able to psychoanalyze the girl at behind the counter, I am definitely going to apply this to my own life.  In short, I am grieving about the loss of my DH for a short while (another six months).  Many therapists use the Kubler-Ross Model that goes through the five stages of grief: Denial, Anger, Bargaining, Depression and Acceptance.  Mind you, you go through these five stages before and after a loss.  You can also regress or even skip a step depending on how you grieve.

Here is my depiction of the last few days:

*As I am reading through this little cartoon, I realized that there are a billion grammatical mistakes.  I don't have the time now to go through all of these so please forgive me and I promise to fix them later!  Thanks!

My next topic: The Emotional Cycle of Deployment guidelines written by the U.S. Army vs the Kubler-Ross Cycle!  More to come!


Post a Comment


blogger templates | Make Money Online